Ranking · Italy · Rome
← Back to the ranking

Convitto Nazionale "Vittorio Emanuele II"

Italy Rome, Italy · est. 1595 · State
Illustration · Rome
70.3#245 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The Convitto Nazionale "Vittorio Emanuele II" in Roma traces its history to the Pontificio Collegio Clementino, founded by a bull of Pope Clement VIII in 1595; the state revived it as a national boarding school in 1891, and in 1935 it moved to its current building near Piazza Monte Grappa. It is a state boarding institution with annexed schools: scuola primaria, scuola secondaria di primo grado and six liceo tracks - liceo classico, liceo scientifico, liceo scientifico sportivo, liceo classico europeo (with ESABAC), liceo scientifico internazionale with Chinese, and liceo coreutico (dance). The school has a boarding house with boys' and girls' sections. Since 2015 it has been a Cambridge International school: in the liceo classico students can take up to four IGCSE exams, and from 2026-2027 a liceo classico Cambridge track with economics has opened. The school runs university counselling for study abroad: in 2025, 58 graduates applied to universities in the US, the UK, the EU and Asia.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
6 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English, French, Chinese
Languages taught
Latin
About the fees Tuition at the state school is free. Boarding, half-board and IGCSE exam fees are not on the accessible pages; the 2015-2016 IGCSE consent form states that families bear the additional costs.
Admissions Enrolment in first classes follows the state Iscrizioni online procedure. Half-board is compulsory in the first two years of the liceo classico and liceo scientifico and in all years of the liceo scientifico internazionale; early leaving is allowed only on a justified request authorised by the management. The IGCSE English as a First Language course takes students with B2 level or from international schools. The 2026-2027 admission rules page and the primary school page are behind a bot check, so admission conditions for primary and boarding are not described here. The school does not write about foreign students on the accessible pages.
Stages and year groups Italian curriculum, with the licei ending in the esame di Stato. Licei: liceo classico (two sections), liceo classico Cambridge Economia (from 2026-2027), liceo scientifico (sections A and B with English), liceo scientifico sportivo, liceo classico europeo with ESABAC (French and English with native teachers, Histoire in French), liceo scientifico internazionale with Chinese (7 hours of Chinese in class 1, some subjects in Chinese, an annual study trip to China in classes 1-4, HSK and HSKK certificates), liceo musicale e coreutico (dance section). Cambridge: in the liceo classico up to four IGCSEs: English as a Second Language or English as a First Language (exam at the end of class 2 or start of class 3, 2 extra hours), Geography (1 extra hour in classes 1-2), Mathematics (1 extra hour in classes 1-2), Global Perspectives (2 extra hours in class 3); in the Cambridge Economia track 4 hours of English preparing for Cambridge ESL, in classes 3-4 for Cambridge English AS, and optional mathematics in English. The PTOF also lists IGCSE Computer Science. The liceo scientifico has had Cambridge status since 2015-2016; its subjects are not listed on the site.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. Classical liceo pupils can take up to four optional IGCSEs with extra hours: English, geography, maths and Global Perspectives.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Where leavers go: Imperial College London · University of St Andrews · University of Edinburgh · University College London (UCL) · University of Bath · University of Bristol · University of Manchester · Duke Kunshan University · NYU Shanghai · ESADE · Sciences Po · Maastricht University and others, 19 universities in the school's list in all
The list shows admission offers to the class of 2025 from the school counselling report; in 2025, 58 graduates, almost 20% of the class, applied to universities abroad, most from the liceo scientifico internazionale. The school stresses that applying does not mean enrolling: some graduates stay in Italy.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
✓Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: Confucius Classroom · College Counseling · International Cultural Exchanges

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school states that its staff are state employees, mostly permanent; in half-board each class has an educator who has lunch with students, leads study time and takes part in class councils. In the liceo classico europeo languages are taught by native speakers.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
67
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Istituto di Istruzione Secondaria Superiore J. M. KeynesCastel Maggiore · 70.3International School of BrindisiBrindisi · 70.2Istituto Istruzione Secondaria Superiore Salvatore TrincheseMartano · 70.2Istituto Statale «Dante Alighieri» - Polo Liceale di GoriziaGorizia · 70.2