Home · Spain · Jerez de la Frontera
← Back to home

IES Padre Luis Coloma

Spain Jerez de la Frontera, Spain · est. 1838 · State
Illustration · Jerez de la Frontera
70.0#196 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

IES Padre Luis Coloma is the oldest institute in the province of Cádiz: the school dates itself from 1838 and writes so in the heading of its site, and on its identity page adds that it remains an educational and cultural landmark of the province. It is a state school of the Junta de Andalucía in Jerez de la Frontera, on the avenue of mayor Álvaro Domecq; on its home page the school gives more than 1282 pupils in 41 teaching groups and 108 teachers. It teaches ESO, bachillerato, vocational training, adult education and Chinese language courses, and since 2021 the IB Diploma Programme, and in its words it is the only state school in the province with this programme. The language of lessons is Spanish; English, French and Chinese are taught as foreign languages, plus Latin and Greek, and the school is proud that a bachillerato leaver can leave with four languages. Since 2016 it has had Aula Confucio status and exchanges with China, France and other countries under Erasmus+. On a page of its own the school honestly explains entry to a Spanish university with the IB diploma: the diploma grades count for the access phase but not for the selection phase, so fourteen points cannot be reached with it, and the student has to wait for the second allocation of places, because IB results are published on 5 July and the first allocation takes place on 4 July; the UNED credential the student requests personally from February, and it takes at least three weeks. Its historic 19th-century collections, the physics and natural history cabinets, the school shows in its own natural sciences museum.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Spanish
Languages taught
English, French, Chinese
School website
Students
more than 1282 pupils in 41 teaching groups
Students per teacher
about 12 pupils per teacher (by the school's figures, 1282 pupils and 108 teachers)
About the fees Tuition is free: this is a state school of the Junta de Andalucía. The only payment the school names is the school insurance of 1,12 euros from ESO year 3.
Admissions The school is a state school and tuition is free. In ESO and bachillerato admission follows the general procedure of the Junta de Andalucía, with enrolment for the following year from 1 to 10 July. Children who come into the Spanish school system late, including children of immigrants, the school, under its inclusion policy, admits taking into account their age, knowledge and previous schooling, and it runs a temporary language adaptation class, ATAL, where Spanish is taught as the language of lessons and the culture of origin is maintained. For the IB Diploma Programme applications are made from 1 to 31 March alongside the ordinary bachillerato application; there are 35 places, allocated in descending order of the average mark for ESO year 3, of which 12 places are kept for pupils of the school itself and of the attached Colegio Nuestra Señora del Rosario, 5 for those choosing French and 5 for those choosing Latin, and the rest for pupils from any school. Provisional lists come out at the end of May, final ones in June, and enrolment runs from 1 to 10 July. Enrolment requires a certificate of the average mark for ESO year 3, the documents of the pupil and the parents, a form and payment of the school insurance.
Stages and year groups Grades ESO year 1 - bachillerato year 2, IB Diploma Programme, vocational training, adult education. The compulsory secondary stage is set out by the school according to the Andalusian order of 30 May 2023, with a timetable of hours by subject and rules for promotion and graduation. Then come bachillerato and, since 2021, the IB Diploma Programme for pupils from 16 to 19, alongside vocational training, adult education and Chinese language courses. In all the school has 41 teaching groups; in ESO years 1 and 2 Spanish and English lessons are taught in smaller groups.
Address Avda. Alcalde Álvaro Domecq, 10, 11402 Jerez de la Frontera (Cádiz)

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: In the north wing, built in 1990, the library is on the ground floor and on the upper floor the natural sciences museum with historic 19th-century collections: physics, chemistry and natural history cabinets, archaeological and numismatic collections, maps, armillary spheres, old gymnastic apparatus. In the yard there is an open-air classroom with board games and a botanical garden that pupils look after.
Clubs and activities: Escuela Coral choir · RadioColoma school radio · El Ratón Pérez theatre company · AulaDjaque chess · Pickleball · Football · Basketball · Volleyball · Botanical garden · More Sport
Source: iescoloma.es

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
On its home page the school gives 108 teachers. There are fifteen teaching departments: geography and history, guidance, classical languages, technology, music, mathematics, Castilian language, English, French, physics and chemistry, philosophy, physical education, economics, drawing, biology and geology. Each teacher belongs to the department of their speciality and, where necessary, to a second one; among the specialists the school names a teacher of the ATAL language adaptation class. The school takes students of education faculties for teaching practice. It names no qualifications and no class sizes.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The guidance department carries out psycho-pedagogical assessment of pupils with special educational needs; the school has an inclusion policy, the Andalusian gender equality plan, aimed among other things at improving the school climate, and a healthy lifestyle programme. On digital safety the school gives parents advice and refers them to the Pantallas Amigas project. The school names no security staff, no video surveillance, no medical worker and no anti-bullying protocol.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Shoreless Lake School at MurciaTotana · 70Colegio Alameda de Osuna - Alameda International SchoolMadrid · 70Colegio Internacional LevanteChiva · 70IES Histórico Bachiller SabucoAlbacete · 70