← Back to the rankingIstituto d'Istruzione Secondaria Superiore «Giancarlo Siani»

Casalnuovo Di Napoli, Italy · est. 2008 · State
Illustration · Casalnuovo Di Napoli
The Istituto d'Istruzione Secondaria Superiore "Giancarlo Siani" is a state upper secondary school in Casalnuovo di Napoli. It grew out of a branch of a technical institute in nearby Marigliano and became an independent institution in 2008; since 2010 it has been named after Giancarlo Siani, the Neapolitan journalist murdered by the Camorra, a name chosen in a student referendum. One management runs a liceo scientifico (standard, with a biomedical track and with a Cambridge IGCSE course), a liceo linguistico opened in the 2025-2026 school year with English, Spanish and Chinese, and an istituto tecnico economico with finance and marketing, information systems, international relations and a sports track. In the Cambridge section of the liceo scientifico some subjects are taught in English following British syllabuses with IGCSE exams, the rest in Italian. About 980 students attend and 118 teachers work there.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, Chinese, Latin
About the fees Tuition at this state school is free. The website and PTOF give no information on a voluntary family contribution or on a fee for the Cambridge course.
Admissions Admission follows the state iscrizioni online procedure after scuola secondaria di primo grado. The Cambridge section and the sports section of the technical institute open depending on demand; the website and PTOF do not describe separate selection for the Cambridge section. Foreign students make up about 1.4% of the school; a protocol for receiving foreign students is published on the PTOF page, and a cultural mediator works at the school.
Stages and year groups Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato (maturità): liceo scientifico - standard (27 hours a week in years 1-2, 30 in years 3-5), with a biomedical track (extra biology and logic hours, 29 and 32 hours) and with a Cambridge IGCSE course; liceo linguistico (since the 2025-2026 school year: English, Spanish, Chinese, Latin in years 1-2); istituto tecnico economico - amministrazione, finanza e marketing (including a sports track), sistemi informativi aziendali, relazioni internazionali per il marketing (three foreign languages). Cambridge: since the 2020-2021 school year, when there is enough demand, the liceo scientifico runs a Cambridge IGCSE course - English as a Second Language and Mathematics in years 1-2, English as a Second Language and science in years 3-4 (the course page lists Biology and Design & Technology for years 3-4); 29 hours a week in years 1-2 and 32 in years 3-5, with extra hours taught by native speakers or subject experts; students sit exams on British syllabuses. Separately the school prepares students for the Cambridge English PET and FCE language exams.
Address Via Gaudiosi snc, 80013 Casalnuovo di Napoli (NA)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. When enough pupils enrol, the liceo scientifico runs a Cambridge course: IGCSE ESL and Mathematics in years 1-2, then ESL and science in years 3-4.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Makerspace
Clubs and activities: School Band · Erasmus+ (exchanges and placements in Europe) · eTwinning · International Exchanges · Cambridge PET and FCE Certifications · Podcast · La voce del Siani (school newspaper) · Writers on the Front Line · CyberHighSchools · Scientific Degrees Plan
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers118
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
According to the PTOF the school has 118 teachers and 25 support staff; about 60% of teachers are on permanent contracts and have worked at the school for more than five years, and there are 33 support teachers for students with disabilities. The extra Cambridge course hours are taught by native speakers or subject experts.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
There is a psychological support service (sportello di ascolto) and a service for students with learning difficulties; the school uses a psychologist, a doctor, a cultural mediator and a social worker. There are programmes against bullying, cyberbullying and gender-based violence, and the number of such incidents is one of the indicators of the improvement plan.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country