← Back to the rankingLiceo Scientifico Statale «Antonio Pacinotti»

La Spezia, Italy · est. 1940 · State
Illustration · La Spezia
Liceo Scientifico Statale «Antonio Pacinotti» is La Spezia's state scientific liceo, founded in 1940; since the 1972-1973 school year it has had a branch in Levanto. 966 students attend in 44 classes. Teaching is in Italian, ending with the esame di Stato. Tracks: standard liceo scientifico, sports, with a biomedical profile and the Cambridge International section. Since 23 November 2020 the liceo has been Cambridge approved and, it says, remains the only such school on the coast between Genoa and Pisa. In the Cambridge section, from the first to the fourth year, English as a second language and mathematics are also studied under Cambridge IGCSE syllabuses, 150 hours per subject over four years, with English school textbooks and a module with a native speaker; at the end of the fourth year, before the final state exam, students sit IGCSE and receive an English certificate in addition to the Italian diploma.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
About the fees The school is a state school and tuition is free. The PTOF and website show no separate charge for the Cambridge section and no voluntary contribution amount; the school's annual fee to Cambridge International and exam staff costs are listed among the school's own expenses.
Admissions Enrolment in the first year of any track, including the Cambridge section, follows the state Iscrizioni online procedure within the dates the ministry announces each November. Transfers from another school or another track of the liceo are via integration exams or interviews in early September. The website publishes no separate selection rules for the Cambridge section; the school also organises Cambridge exams for candidates outside the section. 6% of students do not hold Italian citizenship; for those who need it, the committee for foreign students runs Italian as a second language courses.
Stages and year groups Five-year liceo scientifico ending with the esame di Stato: standard track (in La Spezia and Levanto), sezione ad indirizzo sportivo, curvatura biomedica and the Sezione Cambridge International. Cambridge: in years 1-4 English has one extra hour a week (4 instead of 3), devoted to the Cambridge IGCSE English as a Second Language syllabus; one mathematics lesson is given to the IGCSE Mathematics syllabus; a native speaker supports the teacher; in year 4 there are also 18 hours of after-school intensive sessions per subject; IGCSE exams are at the end of year 4. The Cambridge week is 28 hours in years 1-2 and 31 in years 3-4.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. In the Cambridge section of the science lyceum English and Mathematics follow IGCSE syllabuses in years 1-4 with a native speaker, and IGCSE exams are taken at the end of year 4.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio
Clubs and activities: Debate · Model United Nations · Mathematics Championships · Physics Championships · Italian Championships · Philosophy Championships · Robotica (robotics) · Sailing · School Sports Centre · Theatre and Cinema · School Newspaper
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers55
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school has 55 teachers and 25 technical and administrative staff; 64.5% of permanent teachers have worked at the liceo for more than five years. In the Cambridge section a native speaker supports the English and mathematics teachers; there is an exams officer and a Cambridge teacher support coordinator, and teachers attend Cambridge marking workshops. In the final year the subject taught in English (CLIL) is led by mathematics and physics teachers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
There is a psychological counselling service (CIC) with a psychologist from the local health service ASL 5 for students, parents and staff. There is a lead and a team for preventing bullying and cyberbullying that includes a psychologist; the inclusion coordinator supports students with special needs and foreign students.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country