← Back to the rankingIstituto Pluricomprensivo Brunico - Val Pusteria

Brunico, Italy · State
Illustration · Brunico
The Istituto Pluricomprensivo Brunico - Val Pusteria is a state institute that brings together all Italian-language schools in the Pusteria valley in South Tyrol: nurseries, primary and lower secondary schools in Brunico, Dobbiaco and San Candido, and the Cantore upper secondary school in Brunico with a liceo classico, a liceo scientifico (scienze applicate) and a technical economics institute. In the 2024-25 school year 756 children studied in 44 classes and groups. The area is bilingual, and German is not only a subject: some subjects are taught in German, and English is also used as a language of instruction. Since the 2019-20 school year the liceo classico has run a Cambridge project: in the first year, 1 hour a week each of Biology and Global Perspectives in English during school hours. About a quarter of pupils are of foreign origin, and there are Italian courses for them.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Italian, German, English
About the fees Tuition at this state school is free.
Admissions State school, the only Italian-language school in the valley; almost all Italian families of the valley and neighbouring areas send their children here, sometimes also from Cadore and from Austria. About 25% of pupils are of foreign origin; for recent arrivals the school organises Italian courses and support. The upper secondary school also has students from other provinces, including athletes, who live in a boarding hall. The PTOF does not publish separate admission requirements for the Cambridge project.
Stages and year groups Grades infanzia, 1-5, 1-3, 1-5, 44 classes. Scuola dell'infanzia (Brunico, Dobbiaco, San Candido), scuola primaria (Galileo Galilei in Brunico, Dobbiaco and San Candido), scuola secondaria di primo grado (Don Milani in Brunico, about 130 pupils in two sections per year, and Dobbiaco), and the Cantore scuola secondaria di secondo grado in Brunico with three tracks: liceo classico, liceo scientifico (scienze applicate) and a technical economics institute (administration, finance and marketing); 44 classes and groups in the 2024-25 school year. The liceo classico has 36 hours a week, history and geography partly in German and art history partly in English. The Cambridge project has run in the liceo classico since the 2019-20 school year; according to the PTOF 2025-2028, the first year has 1 hour a week of Biology and 1 hour of Global Perspectives during school hours for the whole year. At the Don Milani lower secondary school, English (3 hours a week) is taught in mixed groups of parallel classes depending on participation in the Cambridge pathway.
Address Via J. Ferrari 16, 39031 Brunico (BZ)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge International courses in individual subjects without naming the stage.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The institute brings together 9 buildings in Brunico, Dobbiaco and San Candido. The buildings have gyms and canteens; the institute runs an interschool library that is also open to the public, the Torretta Galileo Galilei astronomical observatory with school visits, and the SEA environmental education centre in Dobbiaco.
Clubs and activities: Astronomy Group (observatory) · PluriLab (biotechnology) · Reading Group (inter-school library)
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The PTOF refers to a separate institute regulation on preventing bullying and cyberbullying; the school is building an online safety (e-safety) policy recognised by the Ministry and aims for wellbeing at school for students, teachers, staff and families.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data67 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country