Home · Lithuania · Klaipėda
← Back to home

Klaipėdos licėjus

Литва Klaipėda, Lithuania · est. 1995 · Private
Illustration · Klaipėda
74.4#5 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The school was founded in 1995 as the private primary school Abėcėlė, reorganised into a basic school in 2000, and given lyceum status in 2013. It runs the full International Baccalaureate continuum: IB PYP in grades 1-4, IB MYP in grades 5-10 and IB DP in grades 11-12, plus the LIONS QUEST social-emotional programme and a bilingual Lithuanian-English pre-primary stage, Mažasis Klaipėdos licėjus, at a separate address, Kretingos g. 90. The school also runs a paid children's health centre (Vaiko sveikatos centras) offering kinesitherapy, speech therapy, psychology, massage, a pool and a salt room - a separate commercial service, not included in tuition. The school states that from 2016 to 2025 it ranked first among Lithuanian gymnasiums that do not select pupils by entrance exam, and that its graduates go on to universities in Lithuania and abroad.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $8 597 a year
740 EUR a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Admits from
18 months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Lithuanian, English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish, Italian, Russian
School website
Registration fee
≈ $58
50 EUR
Deposit
≈ $1 104
950 EUR
About the fees For grades 5-8 the monthly fee is 740 euros, paid in 10 instalments a year (7400 euros a year). One-off payments: an entrance test at 50 euros and an enrolment fee of 950 euros. The International Baccalaureate programme carries a further surcharge of 100-170 euros a month. A 20 percent discount applies to a second and further child from the same family. Fees for the other stages (kindergarten, primary school, upper gymnasium grades) are not published on the pages that were read.
Admissions The school states directly that it runs no competitive selection: pupils are admitted until the class is full. Diagnostic tests in Lithuanian, mathematics and English are used not to screen pupils out but to identify what support a child needs. Both citizens and foreign nationals are admitted, provided the family accepts the school's values and community agreement. Scholarship applicants must show high academic achievement and documented community service.
Stages and year groups A separate infant programme, Mažylių akademija, admits children aged 7 to 18 months in a new three-storey building at Kretingos g. 90.
Address Kretingos g. 44, 92317 Klaipėda

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The school states that from 2016 to 2025 it ranked first among all Lithuanian gymnasiums that do not select pupils by entrance exam, based on learning outcomes; it does not publish a numeric average IB DP score or diploma pass rate.
Where leavers go: University of Cambridge · University of Edinburgh · MIT · London School of Economics · École Polytechnique · Vilnius University · LSMU · KTU

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The main building is at Kretingos g. 44; a separate new three-storey pre-primary building stands at Kretingos g. 90 by the Dane river and the Botanical Garden. The school runs a paid children's health centre with a pool, a salt room, kinesitherapy and speech therapy (a separate commercial service, not included in tuition).

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
78
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Vilniaus licėjusVilnius · 75.3The British School of VilniusVilnius · 75.9Alytaus šv. Benedikto gimnazijaAlytus · 72.7Stembridge SchoolVilnius · 71.9