← Back to homeAlytaus šv. Benedikto gimnazija

Alytus, Lithuania · est. 1996 · State
Illustration · Alytus
St. Benedict's Gymnasium in Alytus grew out of a decision by the local clergy: on 2 May 1991 priests of the Alytus deanery decided to open a Catholic primary school in the city, in 1992 a bishop blessed the foundation stone, and on 2 September 1996 the school opened as a Catholic secondary school with 281 students and 19 teachers. In 1998 it was renamed Alytaus šv. Benedikto vidurinė mokykla, and in 2006 it gained the status of a state gymnasium while remaining true to Christian values and St. Benedict's motto 'Ora et labora', pray and work. In 2021 the gymnasium added international programmes: the Middle Years Programme at the basic-education stage and the Diploma Programme at the upper-secondary stage, plus the Duke of Edinburgh's Award, DofE. According to the school's 2022 figures, the gymnasium has 774 students and 80 teaching staff, and its campus has grown from 2300 square metres in 1996 to 10934 square metres today. In the 2023-2024 school year the gymnasium ranked among Lithuania's top 50 gymnasiums across six published rankings by the magazine 'Reitingai'.
Key facts
Languages of instruction
Lithuanian
About the fees The IB Diploma Programme itself is free of charge at the gymnasium, but in the second year of the programme families pay the IBO examination fees and postage themselves; the exact amount is not stated on the site and varies from year to year.
Admissions Admission conditions, a Lithuanian-language requirement or any restriction on foreign children are not spelled out on the pages examined: the services section points to the gymnasium's statute and local regulations without summarising them. It is known only that teaching in every section except the IB Diploma Programme is in Lithuanian, so knowing the language is needed in practice.
Address Topolių g. 19A, LT-63331 Alytus, Lietuva
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · MYP, DP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results In the 2023-2024 school year the gymnasium ranked among Lithuania's top 50 gymnasiums across six published rankings by the magazine 'Reitingai'; national learning-achievement testing, NMPP, data from 2017 is also mentioned without specific figures. The average IB Diploma score and the state exam pass rate are not published on the site.
Facilities
There is no data for this section yet.
Teaching staff
There is no data for this section yet.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Students are supported by a psychologist, a social pedagogue, a special-needs pedagogue, a speech therapist and a public-health specialist. No information about security, CCTV or a dedicated anti-bullying policy was found on the site.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)88 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country