← Back to homeLycée international français de Vilnius

Vilnius, Lithuania · est. 1991 · Private
Illustration · Vilnius
The Lycée international français de Vilnius was founded in 1991 and operates under the patronage of a non-profit parents' association, which renewed its agreement with AEFE (the Agency for French Education Abroad) in 2021, placing the lycée within a worldwide network of 552 schools in 139 countries. In 2023 all of its programmes received official recognition (homologation) from the Lithuanian Ministry of Education. Today the lycée enrolls 552 children and employs 48 teachers; teaching runs from nursery to the French baccalaureate across two sites, the Šilo forest campus for the youngest children and the Subačiaus campus for elementary, middle and high school. Lithuanian is built into the programme from the preschool stage, and children who do not speak French are welcomed up to Grade 9 with a dedicated language-support programme.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $6 796–9 119 a year
5 850–7 850 EUR
Programmes
French programme
Admits from
18 months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
French
Languages taught
Lithuanian
About the fees Annual tuition rises by level: nursery school 5850, elementary school 6200 (or 6010 paid in a single instalment), collège (grades 6 to 9) 7450, lycée (grades 10 to 12) 7850 (or 7610 paid in a single instalment); payable in 10 instalments a year. Separately: an 800 registration fee (50% off for nursery, the preparatory class, and siblings of enrolled students), a refundable 170 deposit, an annual 180 re-enrollment fee, school supplies from 150 to 250, and examination fees for the Brevet (120) and the baccalaureate (140 and 250 by grade).
Admissions There is no citizenship restriction. French is not required up to Grade 9, the school welcomes both French speakers and non-speakers with a dedicated language-support programme; from Grade 2 (CE1) onward, entrance tests are required.
Stages and year groups A fully French programme, with Lithuanian compulsory from the preschool stage.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
AEFE · accreditationschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
AEFEAgency for French Education Abroad
It runs the network of French schools worldwide, while the accreditation itself, the homologation, is granted by the French education ministry and inspected by French state inspectors. A leaver from a homologated school moves into a school in France without an entrance examination. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →French programme
The state programme of France. A school is homologated by the French ministry of education, and a leaver may move into a school in France without entrance tests. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What this means for this school. Which year groups of this school are covered by homologation - only the primary ones, or all the way to the final year - is not stated here. The difference matters: it decides whether the school takes a child through to the French baccalaureate or hands them on to another school halfway.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities
The school does not describe its premises on its website.
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
During school holidays a leisure centre (centre de loisirs) operates for nursery and elementary students, daily from 7:30 to 18:00, with dance, pottery, museum visits and outdoor outings.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The lycée employs 48 teachers for 552 students; the school does not separately state a student-teacher ratio.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Each of the two campuses has a health specialist (nurse) and a speech therapist on staff; the Subačiaus campus also has a school psychologist. In 2026 the lycée gained "health-promoting school" (école promotrice de santé) status.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country