Home · Spain · Barcelona
← Back to home

Oak House School

Spain Barcelona, Spain · est. 1968 · Private
Illustration · Barcelona
76.0#54 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Oak House School is a British private school in Barcelona, in the upper part of the Sarrià district, opened on 19 September 1968 in a country house on Sant Pere Claver street; its tower still stands at the centre of the campus and has become the school's symbol. Since 1989 the school has been owned by a non-profit private foundation, Fundació Privada Oak House School: profit is not distributed, any surplus goes back into the school, and the board of governors has seven parents. Stages run from Early Years at three through primary (5-11) and secondary (12-16) to the 16-18 stage, where pupils choose the national bachillerato or the IB diploma; the school has six curricula in all. Teaching is in English and Spanish, the head writes that pupils become trilingual and can take a fourth language; the school prepares for Cambridge, Institut Français and Goethe-Institut examinations. Results are strong: in 2026 the average IB diploma score was 35 against a world average of 30.9, 98% passed, and one pupil scored 45 out of 45; in the bachillerato all passed the examinations and 33% scored above 8 out of 10. Leavers go to British Russell Group universities - King's College London, Warwick, Bath, Manchester - and to Spanish ones. The head is Amanda Hughes. The campus has eight buildings, four playgrounds, a pool and a library; there is a medical service, its own canteen, buses and a large extracurricular programme: sport, swimming, music, art, drama, the Duke of Edinburgh's Award, Model United Nations.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $12 421–15 149 a year
10 995–13 409 EUR
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · IGCSE
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English, Spanish
Languages taught
Catalan, French, German, Chinese
School website
About the fees The school publishes its fees in the 'Enrolment information' document for 2025-2026: Early Years - 10995 euros a year (999.55 euros a month), primary - 11054 euros, ESO 1-2 - 11567 euros, ESO 3-4 - 11400 euros, bachillerato - 11272 euros, IB - 13409 euros a year (1219 euros a month). Payment is in 11 instalments from July to June or by a single transfer before 30 September with a 2.75% discount. The fee includes tuition, compulsory lunch, wrap-around care from 8:00 to 9:00 and from 16:20 to 18:15, day trips, and official examinations at the first sitting - Cambridge, Institut Français, Goethe-Institut, IGCSE, IB DP and EBAU fees. Discounts: 27.98% for the third child, 54.41% for the fourth, and the fifth and further children study free. The school warns that the amounts apply to the current school year and may change.
Admissions The school accepts applications all year round for children from 3 to 16, from Nursery to the first year of the IB or bachillerato, but only when places are available; otherwise the child goes on the waiting list, and the main criterion for allocating places is the application date. The steps are: an online application through the OpenApply system with the latest school reports, an online meeting and a group tour (for the IB and bachillerato, open mornings from October to January), review by the admissions committee, then an assessment: for younger children an informal meeting, for older ones from Year 3 entry tests in English, Spanish and mathematics, Catalan if required, and an interview with the Inclusion & Wellbeing service. The school then makes a time-limited offer of a place, and the family pays a 3500 euro fee. English and Spanish, academic performance and attitude to learning are taken into account. The school accepts children from other countries: the tests can be taken online if the candidate lives abroad; in Early Years children may join without English or Spanish, in primary each case is decided individually, and from Year 2 a certain level of English is needed; without Spanish, parents may be asked to pay for one-to-one support in class. Priority goes to siblings of pupils and children of staff and alumni.
Stages and year groups Grades Nursery (age 3) - IB DP 2 / 2nd year of bachillerato. Stages and ages: Early Years (Nursery and Reception) - ages 3-5, primary - 5-11, secondary - 12-16, the final stage - 16-18 with a choice of the national bachillerato or the IB diploma. All children born in the same year go into one year group. In the IB there are six subjects: two languages at native level - English and Spanish, mathematics at three levels, sciences (physics, chemistry, biology, environmental systems and societies, sports science), group 3 (psychology, history, economics, business) and theatre. Wrap-around care from 8:00 to 9:00 and from 16:20 to 18:15 is included in the fee. The school does not state class sizes.
Address Sant Pere Claver, 12-18, 08017 Barcelona

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average IB score
35 (world average 30.88)
Passed IB
98%
Exam results IB diploma in 2026: average score 35 against a world average of 30.9, 98% passed against a world average of 80%, 11.7% scored more than 41 points, one pupil scored 45 out of 45. In 2025 the average was 36 and 97% passed. In the bachillerato in 2026, 100% passed, 33% scored above 8 out of 10 against a Catalan average of 11.9%, the best university entrance result was 13.382 out of 14, and an IB pupil scored 14 out of 14.
Where leavers go: King's College London · University of Warwick · University of Bath · University of Manchester
The school writes that its leavers with the bachillerato and the IB diploma go to universities in the United Kingdom, Spain, the USA and other countries; among British Russell Group universities it names King's College London, Warwick, Bath and Manchester. The shares by country are not shown as figures on the destinations page.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus: The campus in upper Sarrià has eight separate buildings, each with its own purpose, four playgrounds and the original 1968 tower. Early Years has its own bright building with areas for play and creativity and a large playground, and primary has its own building. There is a swimming pool where swimming lessons take place, a library, its own canteen and a medical service. School buses run on three routes - from Vila Olímpica, from Gran Via and Plaça d'Espanya, and from Sant Cugat via upper Barcelona. The plan for 2025-2026 includes refurbishing the Early Years and primary buildings, with construction in summer 2026, and new outdoor learning areas.
Clubs and activities: Swimming · Sport · Music clubs · Art · Drama · Duke of Edinburgh's Award · CAS for IB students · Model UN · Work placements · Excellence programmes · Careers information sessions · Library and literature · Mathematics

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The leadership is named: head Amanda Hughes, heads of stage Alison Wylie (Early Years), Claire Weber (primary), Paloma Mussons (secondary), Jordi March (bachillerato and IB), IB coordinator Elaine Sibley. The Inclusion & Wellbeing service has three psychologists and two inclusion leads. In the fees document the school writes that after a four-year pay agreement teacher turnover fell by half, and in secondary and the upper school by 83%, and that in 2025-2026 it is creating eight more leadership roles and hiring additional teachers. The school does not state the number of teachers or the pupil-teacher ratio.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school calls child protection paramount and writes of a full set of policies and procedures. There is a designated safeguarding lead - the junior school psychologist Paola Benito - two more psychologists for secondary and the upper school, and a PSHE programme on wellbeing. There is a medical service. Policies on complaints, a complaints channel and social media rules are published. The school names no video surveillance and no security guards.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
84
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
61
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Casvi International American SchoolTres Cantos · 76SEK International School AlboránEl Ejido · 76Colegio San CayetanoPalma · 76Colegio ValdefuentesMadrid · 76