← Back to homeRaoul Wallenberg International School Palma

Palma, Spain · est. 2024 · Private
Illustration · Palma
Raoul Wallenberg International School Palma is the first school abroad of the Swedish network Raoul Wallenbergskolan, which has worked in Sweden since 2005 and counts about 20 schools and 4500 pupils. The school opened in September 2024 in a historic 1929 building in the La Vileta district of Palma - a former convent which until recently belonged to the Vatican. It now teaches children from 3 to 13 years, from Pre-K1 to Grade 8, and adds the next year group every year until it reaches 18 years. The programme is built on the Cambridge International Pathway and the American Common Core standards, with methods inspired by the IB, learning through projects and inquiry; lessons are in English, and children also learn to read and write in Spanish and Catalan. The school writes that it is approved by the British Council and Cambridge International as a primary and secondary school and fully authorised by the Balearic education department. The school's four values - honesty, compassion, courage and drive - come from Raoul Wallenberg. Every morning begins with 15 minutes of "Class Connect", on Fridays the whole school gathers for "Community Time", and discipline is built on a restorative approach. From September 2026 a separate preschool for children from 3 to 5 years opens next door. The head of school is Anders Hjelm.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $9 207–13 331 a year
8 150–11 800 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Spanish, Catalan
About the fees Fees for the 2026-2027 school year are published on the school's site, in euros per year in three parts (by 1 August, 1 December and 1 March): Pre-K1 and Pre-K2 8150 euros, Kindergarten and Grade 1: 9750, Grade 2 and 3: 10210, Grade 4 and 5: 10660, Grade 6-8: 11800. For paying the whole year by 1 August there is a 3% discount (for example, 7905 euros for Pre-K1 and 11446 for Grade 6-8).
Admissions Admission goes in four steps: the family fills in an expression of interest form and comes on a tour, where the school discusses the child's needs and whether the programme suits them; then submits an online application with documents; the admissions committee reviews it and may ask for further information, a meeting or an assessment; the decision comes in an official letter. After a place is offered, within a week a non-refundable fee of 800 euros and a refundable deposit of 1000 euros are paid. The school writes that families from the United Kingdom, Germany, Spain, Scandinavia and other countries come to its preschool.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-K1 (3 years) - Grade 8 (13 years). The school now runs classes from Pre-K1 to Grade 8, for children from 3 to 13 years, and adds one year group a year to reach 18 years. The programme is the Cambridge International Pathway together with the American Common Core standards: reading and writing in English, Spanish and Catalan, mathematics, science, learning through inquiry and projects in a global context. The school year runs from September to June, three terms with holidays in December and April and one-week breaks in October and February. Every day begins with 15 minutes of "Class Connect", and on Fridays from 11:45 to 12:30 there is "Community Time" for the whole school.
Address C/ Oblates 23, La Vileta, 07011 Palma de Mallorca
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓LaboratoriesA science block with two fully equipped laboratories.
✓Theatre or assembly hallA former chapel turned into an auditorium for assemblies, lectures and concerts.
✓LibraryThe school library in the former chapel building.
✓CateringIts own kitchen and the Raoul's Kitchen restaurant, indoor and outdoor dining rooms with a terrace; pupils eat together with teachers.
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus: A historic 1929 complex, a former convent, on a plot of more than 10000 square metres in the La Vileta district: three floors, about 20 teaching rooms, music, art and science rooms; the grounds are enclosed by a high wall.
Clubs and activities: Football · Volleyball · Gymnastics · Art · Theatre · Choir · Chess · Lego · Science and STEM · Language classes
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school is led by Anders Hjelm, who has worked for more than 20 years in international schools on three continents; the primary school by Beatrice Moccia, the secondary by Ryan Pothier. The teachers page names 30 people: preschool and primary teachers, teachers of mathematics, English, science, individuals and societies, art, music and drama, physical education, a learning support leader and several teachers of Spanish and Catalan. The school writes that all teachers are qualified in their subjects and that at opening the team's average experience was 14 years.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
✓Access control
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school describes its child protection system: a clear procedure for reporting concerns, regular staff training, full background checks on all staff and volunteers, and ongoing evaluation of these measures. A dedicated team is responsible for wellbeing, and discipline is built on a restorative approach. The grounds are enclosed by a high wall, and the car park has electronic gates and cameras.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country