← Back to homeSage College

Jerez de la Frontera, Spain · est. 2006 · Private
Illustration · Jerez de la Frontera
Sage College is a British international school in Jerez de la Frontera, with a day school and a boarding house. It began in 2006 as Campus El Sabio, became a recognised British school in 2014, and since 2018 has been owned by the Parra Garrido family, who also opened a second school in Zug, Switzerland. The school is secular and a member of NABSS, the association of British schools in Spain. Teaching is in English under the English National Curriculum: early years from 18 months, primary school, then Cambridge Lower Secondary, IGCSE and A Level, and in the upper years also BTEC in business and sport and Spanish subjects for entry to Spanish public universities. Spanish is taught every day, and a third language, French or German, from Year 3. Each year has two classes of 15-20 pupils. The on-campus boarding house has room for more than 150 pupils aged 11-18 from more than 25 countries. There is a high-performance sports programme in football, golf, tennis and sailing, its own music school and a football club. The school publishes its fees itself.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $7 897–11 806 a year
699–1 045 EUR a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
18 months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Spanish, French, German
Class size
On average 15-20 pupils, two classes per year; up to Year 2 with a teaching assistant
About the fees The school publishes its day school fees itself, for 2026-2027, monthly, in ten payments from September to June: Prenursery, Nursery and Reception 699 euros (Prenursery and Nursery currently have a 30 per cent discount, 489 euros), Years 1-2: 930, Years 3-6: 960, Years 7-9: 995, Years 10-11: 1025, Years 12-13: 1045 euros. The fee includes lunch, school insurance, exercise books, a personal laptop in secondary school, laboratory practicals, educational resources, the psychological and special needs service, English and Spanish language support, careers guidance and internal clubs. There are discounts for annual or half-yearly payment and for siblings, from the second child.
Admissions The school takes foreign pupils and handles them separately: it has a head of international admissions who works with boarding and high-performance sports pupils, and the boarding house has children from more than 25 countries. English is not necessarily required for admission; it depends on the year: the level is assessed and extra lessons are given if needed; children without Spanish get a Spanish as a foreign language course. Admission has four steps: an application through the form, by telephone or email, a tour with the admissions team, an assessment of the application and previous reports with entrance exams, in secondary school in English and mathematics, and registration if places are available. Entry to Year 12 requires good IGCSE results in the A Level subjects.
Stages and year groups Grades Prenursery (18 months) - Year 13 (18 years). The early years department runs from 18 months to 5-6 years: Prenursery, Nursery and Reception, learning through play and inquiry with English immersion. Primary school, Years 1-6: English, mathematics, science, Global Perspectives, art, IT, personal development, physical education, music, drama and French or German; Cambridge examinations at the end of Year 6. Key Stage 3, Years 7-9, follows the Cambridge International programme in a separate secondary building. Key Stage 4, Years 10-11: IGCSE usually in ten subjects. Key Stage 5, Years 12-13: at least three A Levels, with Spanish possible as a fourth, BTEC Level 3 in business and sport, and optionally 2º Bachillerato subjects for the PCE exams through UNED. Spanish language and literature and geography with history are taught at all stages as Spanish law requires.
Address C/ Alemania 2, 11408 Jerez de la Frontera, Cádiz
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeNABSS · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →NABSSschool network
NABSS (National Association of British Schools in Spain) is not an owner of schools but an association of British schools in Spain, founded in 1978 by a group of leading British schools in the country. According to the association, it has more than 80 member schools, which educate more than 49,000 children and employ more than 5,000 teachers. Only schools officially authorised by the Spanish authorities as foreign schools teaching the British education system and certified by the British Council after inspections can be members; new schools that are still developing are not admitted straight away. The association represents the schools' common interests, encourages collaboration between them and holds an annual conference; its school finder places member schools in Madrid, Catalonia, the Valencian Community, Andalusia, the Balearic and Canary Islands, Murcia and other regions. The association's site is nabss.org.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Where leavers go: University of Oxford · University of Cambridge · Imperial College London · London School of Economics and Political Science
The school does not publish a list of university places by year. It writes that many graduates study at British universities, naming Oxford, Cambridge, Imperial College and LSE, as well as at public and private universities in Spain, and that the Netherlands has become more popular in recent years.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming poolAn outdoor swimming pool.
✓Sports hallA gymnasium.
✓LaboratoriesScience laboratories and a computer lab.
✓Theatre or assembly hallA theatre, a music room and a drama studio.
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓CateringA school restaurant with home-cooked food from fresh produce, cuisines of different countries on Fridays, and the Sage Café.
✓School transportSchool buses with escorts around Jerez, Conil, Chiclana, El Puerto de Santa María, Rota, Chipiona, Sanlúcar and Cádiz.
✓BoardingAn on-campus boarding house for more than 150 pupils aged 11-18: rooms with private bathroom and air conditioning, a lounge, a residents' kitchen, a laundry, a study room.
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio
Campus: A campus in the south of Jerez in a quiet residential area, next to Torrox Laguna Park and the Sherry Golf Club, two minutes from the C-32 motorway exit; gardens and courtyards, separate play areas for the youngest.
Clubs and activities: Football · Basketball · Karate · Contemporary dance · Sage International CF · Sage Music School · Duke of Edinburgh's International Award · Model United Nations · Cambridge English Language Academy · Student council
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: Qualified teachers of the English programme, almost all native English speakers; qualified Spanish teachers for the Spanish programme
All teachers of the English programme, the school says, are qualified, experienced in it and almost all from English-speaking countries; teachers of the Spanish programme are qualified Spanish teachers. In primary school the core subjects are taught by a British teacher, in secondary by subject teachers. Up to Year 2 each class has a teaching assistant. The site presents the leadership: the director, the heads of primary and secondary and the stage coordinators.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school publishes policies on child protection with a designated safeguarding lead (DSL), anti-bullying, health and safety, fire procedure, medical information, a gender diversity care protocol and separate boarding rules. The psychological and special needs service is included in the fee. The Key Stage 3 coordinator is also head of pastoral care. In the boarding house, according to its head, everyone should feel safe, and parents receive regular updates.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data95 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country