← Back to the rankingSkandinaviska Skolan Costa Blanca

Orihuela, Spain · est. 1999 · Private
Illustration · Orihuela
Skandinaviska Skolan Costa Blanca is a Swedish school abroad on the Orihuela Costa in the province of Alicante, operating since 1999. It teaches the Swedish curriculum Lgr22 under the Swedish Education Act and is supervised by Skolverket, so pupils can return to school in Sweden without loss. It accepts children from Sweden, Norway and Finland: Finnish-speaking classes are taught in Finnish by Finnish teachers, Swedish and Norwegian children are taught together in Swedish, and Norwegians have separate mother tongue lessons. From grade 1 everyone studies Spanish and English, Spanish at least one hour a day. About 150 children aged 3 to 18 attend, with classes of no more than 18. The Förskolan Panda preschool follows the Swedish preschool curriculum; förskoleklass and grades 1-6 are taught in ordinary classes. In grades 7-9 and upper secondary, pupils follow the Swedish distance programmes of partner schools (Sofia Distans for grades 7-9, Hermods Gymnasium for upper secondary) in the school building, supervised by tutor teachers, from 9:00 to 15:00. Since 2012 the school's profile has been health: daily movement, emotional intelligence lessons and organic food; it was the first Swedish school abroad in Spain to receive the Grön Flagg award. Children can also come for short periods as guest students from 4 weeks.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $4 349–6 829 a year
3 850–6 045 EUR
Programmes
Swedish programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Swedish, Finnish
Languages taught
English, Spanish, Norwegian
Class size
no more than 18 per class
Registration fee
≈ $847
750 EUR
About the fees Fees for 2025-2026 for privately paying families: förskoleklass and grades 1-6 2635 EUR for the autumn term (17 weeks) and 3410 EUR for the spring term (22 weeks), 6045 EUR per year in total; grades 7-9 and upper secondary 1750 and 2100 EUR, 3850 EUR per year in total, with part of the cost for these stages also payable to the distance school Sofia Distans. The Förskolan Panda preschool for ages 3-4 costs 540 EUR per month including lunch. Guest pupils pay 775 EUR for 4 weeks plus lunch at 6 EUR per day. All new pupils are invoiced at the full rate until Skolverket decides on the state grant; if a pupil is approved, the fee is reduced by 700 EUR and the difference is credited to the next year or refunded. Pupils with skolpeng from a Swedish municipality have other rates on request. Fees are adjusted annually.
Admissions The school accepts pupils from Sweden, Norway and Finland; teaching is in Swedish or Finnish. Applications are accepted all year; the application is free and non-binding: the child is placed on the waiting list and places are confirmed on a rolling basis for the next term. To secure an offered place the registration fee must be paid. If no place is available, the family can stay on the list. Pupils are taken for a term, a year or a short period: guest pupils from 4 weeks are accepted if there is room, depending on the number of full-term pupils. Pupils in grades 7-9 and upper secondary must also be approved by the distance school Sofia Distans, which receives part of the fees. Eligibility for the state grant is decided by Skolverket on an application the school submits at the start of the autumn term.
Stages and year groups Swedish curriculum. The Förskolan Panda preschool for ages 3-5 follows Lpfö 18. Förskoleklass and grades 1-6 have ordinary classroom teaching under Lgr22. Grades 7-9 follow the Swedish distance programme of Sofia Distans under the national timetable, with grades issued by Sofia Distans; pupils study at school from 9:00 to 15:00 with tutor teachers and take two school trips a year. Upper secondary is a Swedish programme with Hermods Gymnasium leading to a gymnasieexamen qualifying for university: Ekonomiprogrammet (economics, law) and Samhällsvetenskapsprogrammet (social science, behavioural science), with individual study plans possible. The school offers no international programmes. Separately, Kompletterande svenska offers supplementary Swedish for children from 6 attending Spanish or international schools.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
SkolverketSkolverket names the school as a Swedish school abroad and gives it a state grant: it teaches the Swedish curriculum.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
SkolverketSwedish National Agency for Education (Skolverket)
A Swedish school abroad: the full-day Swedish curriculum, a state grant from Skolverket and checks by the Swedish Schools Inspectorate.
What the badge means for this school. This is a Swedish school abroad: it teaches the full-day Swedish curriculum, and Skolverket gives it a state grant - this can be seen in its grant decisions. The entry is not a quality inspection. The curriculum and the qualifications are Swedish. Whom the school admits and what it charges are on its own website. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Swedish programme
The Swedish school curriculum taught in Swedish: förskoleklass, the compulsory grundskola under the Lgr22 curriculum and, at some schools, the upper-secondary gymnasieskola leading to the Swedish gymnasieexamen.
What this means for this school. The curriculum is set by the Swedish state: the school follows the Swedish curriculum, receives state funding through Skolverket and is checked by the Swedish Schools Inspectorate. A child who returns to Sweden carries on without switching from another system.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school occupies three buildings in Playa Flamenca on the Orihuela Costa, a 10 minute walk from each other: the Förskolan Panda preschool, a building for förskoleklass and grades 1-5, and a building for grades 6-9 and upper secondary. The sea is within walking distance. The school's own chef cooks lunch daily from local produce in the school kitchen; there is a small dining room, and lunch can be eaten outdoors most of the year. There is after-school care (fritids). It is a day school with no boarding.
Clubs and activities: Padelskola (padel school) · Extra läsning (extra reading) · Dans och rörelse (dance and movement) · Konst och skapande (art and creativity) · Extra spanska (extra Spanish)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: A Swedish teaching licence (lärarlegitimation) and at least five years of experience after teacher training are required; teachers are selected from hundreds of applicants.
The school has 15-20 teachers; teachers plan cross-curricular teaching together every week. Finnish classes are taught by Finnish teachers, and Norwegians have a mother tongue teacher.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school's priorities include work against bullying, order in lessons and high physical safety. New pupils are paired with older buddies (fadderdagar), groups are regularly mixed by age and nationality, and emotional intelligence exercises take place daily.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data73 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country