Home · Spain · Castilleja de la Cuesta
← Back to home

Yago School

Spain Castilleja de la Cuesta, Spain · Private
Illustration · Castilleja de la Cuesta
78.1#25 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Yago School is a private, multilingual, international and co-educational school in Castilleja de la Cuesta outside Seville, taking children from birth to eighteen across two sites: the nursery on Calle Geranio and the senior school on Avenida Antonio Mairena. The school runs the full IB continuum - the Primary Years Programme, the Middle Years Programme and the Diploma - alongside the Spanish curriculum, so a leaver gains both the IB diploma and the Spanish Bachillerato. English is the primary language of instruction, with Spanish integrated alongside it and a choice of French or Mandarin Chinese; the school promises that its students leave with the best fluency in English and an advanced communicative level of Chinese. It has a boarding provision of its own - a Boarding Home for Spanish and international students where accommodation, meals, supplies, a digital device, academic support and cultural trips are included. The school is an Apple Distinguished School, belongs to the Affinitas Education network of schools across Latin America, Europe and the United States which shares teacher training and quality standards, and has been named by Forbes among the top schools in Spain. Its project rests on six pillars: traditional values, languages, science and technology, music and art, sport and the IB curriculum. The brand is an old one: it began in Dublin in 1979 with the idea of teaching the Spanish curriculum in an English-speaking environment, the schools closed during the recession of the 1990s, and the present Seville school was built anew - some of its teachers and managers are those very former pupils.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $4 101–9 377 a year
3 630–8 300 EUR
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Admits from
a few months
Languages of instruction
English, Spanish
Languages taught
French, Chinese
School website
Registration fee
≈ $1 875
1 660 EUR
Summer camp
Yes, open to all
About the fees The school sets out its fees stage by stage and charges them in ten monthly instalments or three termly payments. Nursery, monthly: I0-I1 363 EUR, I2 485 EUR. Senior School, monthly: PYP 1 (age 3) 568 EUR, PYP 2-3 (ages 4-5) 579, PYP 4-5 (primary years 1-2) 664, PYP 6-7 (years 3-4) 676, PYP 8 (year 5) 709, PYP 9 (year 6) 734, MYP 2-3 (secondary years 1-2) 780, MYP 4-5 (years 3-4) 791, the first Diploma year 830 and the second Diploma year 922 EUR a month over nine months. That works out at 3630 EUR a year in the nursery up to 8300 EUR in the first Diploma year. Dining in the senior school is compulsory and billed separately at 203 EUR a month; in the nursery lunch costs 182 EUR a month, lunch with an afternoon snack 192, and school materials 130 EUR. One-off charges at enrolment: 830 EUR for the nursery and 1660 EUR for the senior school, both non-refundable; a place reservation of 300 EUR, deducted in September; and 160 EUR in a single payment for the counselling department. Beyond that the school lists the compulsory dining, IBDP supplements, subscriptions, materials and transport, and publishes the full schedules as separate files.
Admissions The school admits foreigners: its Boarding Home for ages 14-18 is designed for 56 students of different nationalities, and the school holds the interview with the admissions director in person or by video call for parents living abroad or outside the province of Seville. Admission runs in four steps: an enquiry and a meeting at which the school explains its stages, services and fees; an online application with the documents for each stage through the admissions platform; a review of the file by the admissions team and teachers, taking into account places and any support the pupil needs - language or learning - with an answer no later than 15 days after the admissions process closes; and enrolment with payment of the fees. Fees on enrolment: 830 euros for the nursery and 1660 euros for the senior school, non-refundable, and 300 euros to reserve a place, deducted from the September bill; for boarders - a non-refundable fee of 1500 euros, a deposit of 2000 euros returned on departure and 500 euros to the activity fund. The school names no special requirements for foreign pupils, such as homologation or knowledge of Spanish.
Stages and year groups Grades nursery I0 (from age 0) - DP 2 (age 18). The stages run right through and are named after the IB: nursery I0, I1 and I2, then PYP 1 to PYP 9, that is from age three to the sixth year of primary school, MYP 2 to MYP 5 at the secondary stage, and the Diploma Programme over two years. The Spanish curriculum runs alongside, and a leaver takes both diplomas. The school counts the second Diploma year as nine months rather than ten.
Address Av. Antonio Mairena 54, 41950 Castilleja de la Cuesta, Sevilla

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeACS WASC · accreditationAffinitas Education · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
ACS WASCAccrediting Commission for Schools of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges

An American regional accreditation of the institution, working since 1962 and covering some 5,500 schools in California, the Pacific and Asia. It judges the whole school: a self-study, then a team visit. It gives the same status to supplementary and virtual programmes, so the category of an entry is worth checking separately.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Affinitas Educationschool network

Affinitas Education is an international group of private schools; its site gives neither a founding year nor an owner. The group gives different school counts on its own pages - "30 international schools" in the text, "30+" in a counter and 25 schools in the catalogue on the same page - and we quote all three: choosing for a group which of its own numbers is correct is not something we do. On the same page the group cites more than 20,000 students, 7 countries and 3 continents; its catalogue includes schools in Spain, Portugal, Italy, the United States, Mexico and Brazil. In Spain there are six schools: in Seville, Madrid, Málaga, Xàbia (Alicante province) and two in the province of Valencia. The group's site is affinitasedu.com.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
✓Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground · Makerspace
Campus: Two sites in Castilleja de la Cuesta: the nursery at Calle Geranio 1 and the senior school at Avenida Antonio Mairena 54. The school lists: interactive whiteboards and laptops in every classroom, Wi-Fi and fibre optics, two music rooms with 32 pianos, a professional recording studio, an ICT suite with two 3D printers, a Lego Education robotics room, an art room, science laboratories, an indoor sports centre, a psychomotor room, an artificial turf football pitch, multi-purpose courts, a dining room with its own kitchen, an assembly hall, a PYP critical thinking classroom, a conference room, 8 support classrooms, playgrounds, orchards, a forest and gardens, a library, a chapel, outdoor classrooms, an infirmary and a rooftop terrace. Padel courts and an indoor swimming pool are announced as a future extension. The Boarding Home has room for 56 students: rooms for up to four with a private bathroom, separate flats for girls and boys. Dining in the senior school is compulsory and billed separately; the school lists transport among its chargeable extras.
Clubs and activities (7): Extracurricular activities · Sport · Music and art · Science and technology · Yago School Houses · Immersion trips abroad · Morning and afternoon club
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp and takes children from outside as well
The 2026 summer camps run from 23 June to 24 July: a themed camp for ages 3-12 - sport, water activities and themed weeks - and a sports camp for ages 10-17 with training and a swimming pool; families can book 1, 2, 3 or 4 weeks or the whole month. The camps are English-language, and the school invites children from outside, including from abroad: participants live in the international residence on campus, in rooms for four with separate flats for girls and boys, and a nurse is on duty during the day. Sports equipment is not included in the price; the prices themselves are not on the page - they are in separate files.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

✓CCTV
✓Security staff
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a counselling and SEN department, access to which is covered by a one-off charge of 160 euros, and an infirmary: the school nurse is on duty during the day, and outside her hours there are two hospitals five minutes away; staff are qualified to give prescribed medication. In the residence boarding staff look after the students around the clock, and the building is protected by surveillance cameras and security guards. The school names no written child protection policy and no anti-bullying policy.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
90
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
75
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Sotogrande International SchoolSotogrande · 78.1Agora Madrid International SchoolVillaviciosa de Odon · 78.2Colegio Internacional Camarena CanetCanet d'en Berenguer · 77.9Colegio Internacional Ausias MarchPicassent · 77.9