Home · Croatia · Opatija
← Back to home

Adria International School

Хорватия Opatija, Croatia · est. 2022 · Private
Illustration · Opatija
71.3#8 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Adria International School has been running in Opatija since 2022 and occupies Villa Warmeck in the centre of town - an 1895 building that from 1910 onwards housed in turn a gimnazija, a primary school and the town kindergarten. It is the only school in Croatia that runs all three IB programmes in sequence: kindergarten from the age of three, then the PYP, the MYP and the Diploma Programme, so a child does not have to move to another school either at the middle or at the senior stage. Teaching is in English, and the school does take children who have no English: after an entry test they join a language support programme with small-group lessons and help during ordinary classes. The day is a long one - breakfast from eight, lessons from 8:30, finishing between 15:30 and 16:00, and at 14:00 on Wednesdays - and breakfast, lunch and an afternoon snack are included in the fee. Clubs run after lessons from 16:00 to 17:00: baking, art, drama, STEM, yoga, comics and German. The school awards the Diploma only from 2026, so it does not yet have leavers of its own or universities they have gone to.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $9 874–17 426 a year
8 500–15 000 EUR
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Admits from
3 years
Languages
English
School website
Registration fee
≈ $349
300 EUR
About the fees The annual fee depends on the stage: 8,500 EUR for the kindergarten, 10,000 - 10,500 EUR for the PYP, 12,000 - 13,000 EUR for the MYP and 15,000 EUR for the Diploma Programme. On top of the fee the school charges an annual membership and a capital contribution - 500 EUR each in the kindergarten and 1,000 EUR each at the school stages - and a one-off enrolment fee of 300 EUR per pupil. The fee covers the full day from 8:30 to 16:00, meals, learning support, equipment and extracurricular activities. Payment before 5 February earns a 10 per cent discount, which then decreases until August; a second child in the family gets 5 per cent. Card payments can be split into 2-6 instalments.
Admissions Admission runs stage by stage. Children are taken into the kindergarten from the age of three up to the first day of primary school, into a mixed-age group, and the decision rests on a conversation with the parents and the child: the school looks at the child's maturity, their needs and the parents' motivation. Entry to the school itself follows an English entry test, and foreign school documents have to go through a recognition of prior education procedure. The level of English is no barrier to admission - the school says plainly that its pupils arrive with different English and that this is an ordinary thing in an international school - and it runs a separate support programme for them: small groups, individual lessons and help in class.
Stages and year groups Grades kindergarten from age 3 - grade 4 of upper secondary school, up to age 19. The stages run right through without a break: kindergarten from three to six years of age, PYP - grades 1-4 of primary and lower secondary school (ages 6-10), MYP - grades 5-8 of primary and lower secondary school and grades 1-2 of upper secondary school (ages 11-16), the diploma - grades 3 and 4 of upper secondary school. The school day runs from 8:30 to 15:30-16:00 depending on age, and until 14:00 on Wednesdays; clubs run from 16:00 to 17:00. The kindergarten has a full day until 17:00.
Address Stubište Miroslava Krleže 1

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
Library
Catering
School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The Warmeck villa of 1895 in the centre of Opatija, formerly the town kindergarten building, at the foot of Učka and 14 kilometres from Rijeka. It has its own canteen with a hot lunch, a library with an online catalogue open from 8:00 to 16:00, and outdoor areas for lessons and play.
Clubs and activities (12): Mathematics · 3D puzzles · Theatre · Wellbeing · Comics · Yoga and mindfulness · Baking · Art · STEM challenges · German · Storytelling · Little global citizens

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The staff is published by name and divided into the pedagogical leadership, the learning support service and the PYP, MYP and DP programme teams; there are more than thirty people on the team, with the administrative service and the librarian named separately. The school does not state qualifications, the pupil-teacher ratio or class sizes.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
63
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

American Academy in ZagrebZagreb · 71.2Bright Horizons - International British School of ZagrebZagreb · 71.4Prva riječka hrvatska gimnazijaRijeka · 70.8Deutsche Internationale Schule ZagrebZagreb · 69.9