Home · Croatia · Zagreb
← Back to home

American Academy in Zagreb

Хорватия Zagreb, Croatia · est. 2021 · Private
Illustration · Zagreb
71.2#9 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

American Academy in Zagreb is a small private upper secondary school in Zagreb's business district on Radnička cesta, opened in 2021; all teaching is in English. The school runs grades nine to twelve, and for grades seven and eight it keeps a preparatory programme; in 2026/27 it has 105 students. The programme is American and a graduate receives an American diploma, with Advanced Placement courses in English, mathematics, chemistry, environmental science, history, economics, geography and government; a separate STEM track covers robotics and programming. Besides English the school teaches German, Spanish and Croatian, and it belongs to the American Academy network, with schools in Prague and Brno, and to the Dukes Education group. The school has no sports facilities of its own - students train at the sports centre next door. It publishes no named list of clubs and no examination results.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $14 870–16 264 a year
12 800–14 000 EUR
Programmes
AP · American programme
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
German, Spanish, Croatian
School website
About the fees Fees for the 2026/27 school year: upper secondary school - 12,800 EUR a year, the STEM track - 14,000 EUR a year, the preparatory programme for grades seven and eight - 1,950 EUR. An application for financial aid is made to the school on a separate form.
Admissions Admission is by application, an essay and a personal interview; the school holds no lengthy tests and looks at character and motivation. Academic performance, attendance, conduct and the availability of places are taken into account, and on application the school asks to be told of any disciplinary breaches at previous schools.
Stages and year groups Grades grades 9 to 12. For grades 7 and 8 the school has a Middle School Prep preparatory programme. The upper secondary school leads to an American diploma.
Address Radnička cesta 180, 10000 Zagreb

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

MSA · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programme
The Middle States Association holds the school accredited from 3 November 2023 until 1 January 2031, while the school's own profile for 2024/25 calls it an MSA candidate. The network's page speaks of the Zagreb school being accredited in 2023, and the student and parent handbook speaks of a diploma accredited by the Middle States Association.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

MSAMiddle States Association of Colleges and Schools

One of the oldest American accreditations, working since 1887 in more than a hundred countries and linked to the Office of Overseas Schools of the US State Department. It judges the school as an institution across twelve areas, including finances, governance, premises and student support.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Where leavers go: Anglo-American University in Prague · Czech Technical University in Prague · Česká zemědělská univerzita v Praze · Charles University · Prague College · University of Life Sciences Prague · Vysoká škola ekonomická v Praze · Berlin School of Business and Innovation · British and Irish Modern Music Institute · Vienna University of Technology · University of Groningen · TU Delft and others, 58 universities in the school's list in all
The school prints the list of universities that accepted its graduates in its profile as one combined list - with no breakdown by year and no share of those admitted. There are no Croatian universities on that list, but there are ten Czech ones.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school occupies premises in the Agram business centre on Radnička cesta, about twenty-five minutes from the old town. Next to the school there is a modern sports centre that the pupils use: from team games to individual training. The school names no sports halls, laboratories or library of its own.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
Number of teachers8
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
CounsellorEvery pupil has an academic advisor, and pupils are invited to meet them at least once a trimester.
Child protection policyThe school works to the child protection policy of the Consilium network, mandatory for its schools in the Czech Republic and Croatia from 1 September 2026; the policy is reviewed every year. The person responsible for child protection, or a deputy, is in school throughout the school day.
Staff trainingAll staff take child protection training twice a year, and new staff before they start working with pupils. On hiring, identity, qualifications, references, the right to work and a criminal record certificate are checked, and every selection panel includes someone trained in safe recruitment.
Anti-bullying policyThe network has a separate anti-bullying policy.
The school names no medical room: first aid supplies are kept in the school office, and medication and serious allergies are covered by a doctor's note.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
75
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
75
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
60
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
67
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Adria International SchoolOpatija · 71.3Bright Horizons - International British School of ZagrebZagreb · 71.4Prva riječka hrvatska gimnazijaRijeka · 70.8Deutsche Internationale Schule ZagrebZagreb · 69.9