← Back to homeÉcole française internationale de Zagreb

Zagreb, Croatia · est. 1996 · Private
Illustration · Zagreb
École française internationale de Zagreb has been running since 1996 and covers the full French cycle: maternelle from the age of three, école élémentaire, collège and lycée up to the final year, and at the end a pupil sits the baccalauréat and goes with it to a French, a Croatian or an anglophone university. The school is a small one - 155 pupils in thirteen classes and twenty-four teachers - and some of the classes are combined, CE1 together with CE2 for instance. It shares a single roof with the German school of Zagreb: this is the Eurocampus on the Fratrovac hill east of the city centre, and physical education, Croatian and English in the junior years are run as courses common to both schools. French is not needed for admission: the school takes children of any level of language and works separately with those who do not speak French - French is the home language of only a third of its pupils, and half of them are Croatian. From the sixth grade every pupil joins the British international section: two extra hours of language and literature and half of the history and geography course in English. The senior years the school runs together with the French national centre for distance education, CNED - the pupils still come to school every day and work under the supervision of teachers.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $6 389–9 410 a year
5 500–8 100 EUR
Programmes
French programme
Languages of instruction
French, English
Languages taught
German, Croatian
Registration fee
≈ $813
700 EUR
About the fees The annual fee depends on the stage: 5,500 EUR for maternelle, 6,900 EUR for école élémentaire, 8,000 EUR for collège, 8,100 EUR for seconde and première and 6,400 EUR for the final year. Where an employer pays for the schooling the rates are higher - from 7,300 to 9,900 EUR a year. The fee can be paid for the whole year at once or in four parts: 1 July, 1 September, 1 December and 1 March. Paying in full before 1 July earns a 2 per cent discount; a second child in the family gets 5 per cent, a third 10, a fourth 15 and a fifth or later 20 - but none of these discounts applies when an employer is paying. The school calls itself non-profit and says it keeps its fees as low as it can; French citizens can apply for the agency's scholarships, which cover part of the fee and of the associated costs.
Admissions The school admits children of any level of language, including those who speak no French at all, and works with them separately so that their French reaches fluency in time. There is neither an entrance examination nor a French test among the admission conditions. The order is this: first a meeting with the school - in person, by telephone or by video - then a visit to the school, a pre-registration through its administrative platform, the documents, a signed contract and payment of the registration fee together with the first instalment of the fee. Croatian is compulsory for everyone, and for those whose home language it is not the school teaches it as a foreign language.
Stages and year groups Grades maternelle from age 3 - Terminale, up to age 18. The cycle runs right through: maternelle - petite, moyenne and grande section, from three to six years of age; école élémentaire - CP, CE1, CE2, CM1 and CM2, from six to eleven; collège - sixième, cinquième, quatrième and troisième; lycée - seconde, première and terminale. There are thirteen classes for fifteen levels, so some of them are combined. At the end of collège pupils sit the brevet and at the end of lycée the baccalauréat; from première the seniors choose between the general track, which has literary, scientific and economic and social strands, and the technological one. The senior years run together with CNED: the courses are distance ones, but the lessons take place at school every day under the supervision of teachers. The day in maternelle runs from 8:00 to 14:45, until 12:00 on Wednesdays, with lunch and a break from 12:25 to 14:00; in the primary school lessons run from 8:00 to 13:10 and from 14:00 to 16:15.
Address Fratrovac ul. 36, 10000 Zagreb
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
AEFE · accreditationConventionné status in the network of the Agency for French Education Abroad: the school has an agreement with the agency rather than merely a programme it recognises, and its head is appointed by the agency itself from among officials of French national education. All fifteen levels are homologated, from maternelle to the final year, so the certificate its leavers receive is a French one. The school also works to Croatian requirements: its pre-school programme has been approved by the Croatian ministry of education as an ordinary programme for children of pre-school age, and Croatian is compulsory for every pupil. The school does not use the word “conventionné” about itself, describing itself as part of the agency's network, as a school under the patronage of the French embassy and as recognised by the Croatian ministry of education.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
AEFEAgency for French Education Abroad
It runs the network of French schools worldwide, while the accreditation itself, the homologation, is granted by the French education ministry and inspected by French state inspectors. A leaver from a homologated school moves into a school in France without an entrance examination. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →French programme
The state programme of France. A school is homologated by the French ministry of education, and a leaver may move into a school in France without entrance tests. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What this means for this school. Which year groups of this school are covered by homologation - only the primary ones, or all the way to the final year - is not stated here. The difference matters: it decides whether the school takes a child through to the French baccalaureate or hands them on to another school halfway.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The Eurocampus at Fratrovac ul. 36 - a single roof shared with the German school of Zagreb, on the Fratrovac hill east of the city centre, among green wooded hills where the children spend their breaks outdoors. The school calls the Zagreb Eurocampus the most closely integrated of them all: common physical education courses, common English in the junior years, common Croatian in the primary and secondary school, joint working groups and celebrations. There is a canteen, paid for separately from the tuition. The school does not publish a list of its rooms. City buses 201 and 207 run to the school, and it is approached from Maksimirska, Ribnjak and Bukovačka streets.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The staff is published by name, with a post and a subject given for each: the head, the financial manager, the conseiller d'éducation and the secretary; the maternelle and élémentaire teachers and assistants class by class; the subject teachers of collège and lycée - French, mathematics, physics and chemistry, history and geography, life sciences and sport, art, music and philosophy, technology, English, English literature, German, Spanish, Croatian as a mother tongue and as a foreign language; plus two members of the technical service, a concierge and a gardien. More than thirty people are named in all, while the school counts twenty-four teachers. For the lycée it states a ratio of seven pupils to one teacher and explains it as what makes highly personal work with each pupil possible. The school does not publish its teachers' qualifications or its class sizes.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country