← Back to homeHarfa International School

Split, Croatia · Private
Illustration · Split
Harfa International School is a small private school in Split working to International Baccalaureate programmes. Lessons are in English, which is also declared the school's official language, while Croatian is compulsory for everyone and is kept up daily through conversation and reading; Croatian textbooks are included in the fee. The school has more than a hundred pupils of thirteen nationalities, the average class is fifteen, and teaching groups are put together from children of different years. The day is a full one, from 8:30 to 16:00, with a hot lunch and a fruit snack. Beyond the ministry programme the school gives mental arithmetic, Lego robotics and emotional development workshops, and holds some lessons in the park on its own grounds. The rules and policies section of the school's website opens empty, and the school does not publish its teaching staff, its examination results or a list of universities.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $10 862–14 115 a year
9 350–12 150 EUR
Programmes
IB · PYP · National programme
Languages of instruction
English
Registration fee
≈ $639
550 EUR
About the fees The school prints its annual figures for 2026/2027 by stage: 9,350 EUR for the preparatory group and the first four years, 10,650 EUR for years five to eight, 12,150 EUR for years nine and ten. The price of years eleven and twelve the school gives on request. The enrolment fee of 550 EUR is deducted from the annual sum rather than added to it, and the fee can be spread over ten instalments.
Admissions The school suggests registering through the form on its website or by telephone, and, before deciding, coming to the school for forty-five minutes on a weekday morning and seeing it with your own eyes; families who live far away are offered a video call instead of a visit. The form asks about the child, including learning support, health and allergies. The visit commits you to nothing: there is nothing to sign and nothing to pay at that step.
Stages and year groups Grades from the preparatory group to grade 12. One path with no changes along the way: the PYP 0 preparatory group, the primary years PYP 1-5 in grades 1-5, the middle years MYP 1-5 in grades 6-10, the diploma DP 1-2 in grades 11 and 12. Learning groups are mixed-age - one group holds children from different grades.
Address Put Duilova 23, 21000 Split
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP · authorised programmeThe International Baccalaureate lists the school for the Primary Years Programme (PYP). The school itself describes something broader - a single path from the preparatory group to the Diploma, with the Middle Years Programme in years six to ten and the Diploma in years eleven and twelve; the price of the two senior years, though, it gives only on request. Its permission to operate is held from the Croatian Ministry of Science and Education.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: open learning spaces designed both for independent work and for work in groups; a garden and a green play area at the school, and a park on the grounds where lessons are sometimes held
Clubs and activities: Mental arithmetic · Lego robotics · Emotional development workshop
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
15 on average, 18 in a learning group The school does not publish its teaching staff by name: the only pages it has about people are job adverts - for a Spanish teacher and a geography teacher, with a qualification in the subject required. The school describes its teachers by their role: a partner in conversation and a companion who sets tasks, rather than the person explaining at the board. It puts its average class at fifteen, while in its account of how learning is organised it gives eighteen in one learning group; it does not state a pupil-teacher ratio.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data67 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country