A school attached to TOBB University of Economics and Technology in Ankara: it names the university itself as its founder and the chairman of the university's board of trustees, M. Rifat Hisarcıklıoğlu, as the founder's representative. The school describes itself as the university's laboratory school and carries the university's approach into school education: graduates who research, who ask questions, who think from data, who hold to ethical values and who use a foreign language effectively. It runs the national curriculum alongside international programmes and says it enriches both with models of its own, developed by its specialist staff. Its institutional principles are set out as a list: to put the best interests of the child first, to show the quality of its teaching on evidence, to take responsibility for the quality of the process itself, to support the parent's conversation with the child about learning, and to support the teacher's continuing professional development. The school belongs to the Global Schools Program, takes part in meetings of NELUS, the Network of European Laboratory and University Schools, and has completed an Erasmus+ student and staff mobility project.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · PYP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Turkish, English
About the fees The school does not name tuition: a fee section stands in the menu, but the page behind it is empty.
Admissions The school announces admission to the preschool class, the primary school and the middle school, and takes applications through its information request form and its admissions section. The selection procedure, any entrance tests and the deadlines are not described on the site.
Stages and year groups Three schools stand next to one another on the Söğütözü campus: the primary school, the middle school and the science high school, and the school lists them in a section of its own. Admission is announced for the preschool class, the primary school and the middle school. The IB Primary Years Programme runs in the primary school.
Address Söğütözü Caddesi No: 43, Söğütözü, 06560 Ankara
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP · authorised programmeThe IB registry record stands under number 063065 with the PYP stage, in the name of the primary school, TOBB ETÜ Özel Laboratuvar İlkokulu. The school's Turkish page states plainly that the primary school is an authorised IB World School for the PYP. The English page of the same section still calls the school a candidate school pursuing authorisation; the registry and the Turkish page carry more weight here. No centre number or authorisation date is given.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus:
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median80 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country