Home · Spain · Madrid
← Back to home

Colegio El Valle Sanchinarro

Spain Madrid, Spain · Private
Illustration · Madrid
70.9#168 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Colegio El Valle Sanchinarro is one of the campuses of the Madrid network Colegios El Valle, and it stands on Calle Ana de Austria in the Sanchinarro district. Of the four IB programmes the campus runs one, the Diploma: two pre-university years with six subject groups, with a coordinator named in person. The stages run right through and begin very early: the Kianda project covers kindergarten from one to six, and admission for 2026/27 is open for the first cycle of kindergarten, which takes children born in 2026. The site covers 24000 square metres and the provision is generous for a Spanish private school: an assembly hall, laboratories, a technology room, sports courts, an indoor sports pavilion, a heated indoor swimming pool and adapted playgrounds; every classroom has a computer, a projector and an interactive whiteboard, and some are fitted out in the Reinvent the Classroom format. The support service is complete: a guidance department, a psychopedagogical office, a medical room, accident insurance, its own kitchen and a school library, with childcare from seven in the morning to seven in the evening. Since the 2017/18 school year the school has run the Finnish anti-bullying programme KiVa. One thing a parent needs to know: admission to the campus goes through the ordinary admissions process of the Community of Madrid, with its deadlines and an online application, and not only through the school itself.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Admits from
1 year
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
School website
Summer camp
Yes
Admissions Admission for 2026/27 goes through the ordinary pupil admissions process of the Community of Madrid: applications are submitted between 11 and 25 March, either online through the Community's portal or in person on a downloaded form. The school publishes the official process information, the key dates and the admissions decision, and offers a virtual 3D tour of the campus; questions are taken by the secretariat's email. Admission to the first cycle of kindergarten and to the bachillerato is announced separately, and the kindergarten takes children born in 2026. The application comes with a copy of the family book, the pupil's NIA number and the code of the previous school, and is signed by both parents or guardians. The school describes no separate procedure for children from abroad.
Stages and year groups Grades first cycle of kindergarten (from age 1) - year 2 of the bachillerato. The stages run right through: kindergarten under the Kianda project from one to six (the first cycle being ages one and two, the second from three), primary school, ESO, the bachillerato and the IB Diploma Programme in the final two years. Childcare is extended: the guarderia runs from 7:00 to 19:00. The secretariat is open on weekdays from 8:45 to 10:00 and from 16:30 to 18:00.
Address C/ Ana de Austria, 60, 28050 Madrid

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeColegios El Valle · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Colegios El Valleschool network

Colegios El Valle is a secular network of schools that began in 1999: its founders write that, together with a group of teachers, they chose the form of an employee-owned company (Sociedad Laboral) so that everyone would take a direct part in the project. According to the site, the network now has 4 schools and more than 7,000 students, plus an outdoor learning base (Aula de Naturaleza). Three schools are in Madrid - in the Valdebernardo, Sanchinarro and Las Tablas districts - and the fourth is in Alicante. The schools describe themselves as private with state-funded places (concertados-privados); the network offers the International Baccalaureate and has a vocational training centre. The network's site is colegioelvalle.com.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus: A site of 24000 square metres. An assembly hall, laboratories, a technology room, sports courts, a covered sports pavilion, a heated indoor swimming pool, adapted playgrounds, a school library, reprography and a canteen with its own kitchen. Every classroom is equipped with a computer, a projector and an interactive multimedia whiteboard, and some classrooms have been rebuilt in the Reinvent the Classroom format.
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
Urban and Summer Camp: a summer camp for children from the first year of kindergarten to year four of primary school, held on its own campus.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a guidance department and a separate psychopedagogical office, a medical room and accident insurance. Since the 2017/18 school year the KiVa programme - preventing and dealing with bullying - has been part of the school's model. The guidance department runs attention-to-diversity work, help classes and educational support classes.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
90
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
67
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Lycée Français International Bel AirSant Pere de Ribes · 70.9Colegio del SalvadorZaragoza · 70.9Colegio Madrid - Fundación Santa MaríaMadrid · 70.9La Devesa School CarletCarlet · 70.9