← Back to homeSt Michael's College

Adrogué, Argentina · est. 1953 · Private
Illustration · Adrogué
St Michael's College, also known as Colegio San Miguel, is a private trilingual co-educational school in Adrogué, in the Almirante Brown district outside Buenos Aires. It was founded by Oonah Murphy de García de Onrubia and Luis F. García de Onrubia, lecturers at the universities of Buenos Aires, La Plata, Cuyo and Litoral: the primary school and nursery opened in 1953 and the secondary school in 1962. Teaching is in Spanish and English, French is added from the first year of the secondary school, and the school prepares pupils for international certificates in both languages. Enrolment starts at the age of two, three sections run through to year six of the secondary school, and the motto on the school shield is "We will endeavour". The school stands on a site of 5,500 square metres in four buildings among old gardens, while sport is moved out to its own 18 hectare ground in Ministro Rivadavia, twenty minutes' drive away. The school publishes neither its fees nor its admission terms on its website: enrolment is possible only by writing to the administrati.
Key facts
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
About the fees The school does not name its fees on the website at all: it has no section on cost, and enrolment is possible only by writing to the administration at meparisse@csanmiguel.edu.ar.
Stages and year groups Grades Sala de 2 - 6º año de Secundaria. Three sections: Nivel Inicial from Sala de 2 to Sala de 5, Nivel Primario and Nivel Secundario, which is divided into Básica and Orientada and lasts six years. The nursery section works in two shifts: the English one from 7:45 to 11:00 and the Spanish one from 12:45 to 16:45. The secondary school studies from 7:40 to 12:00 and, after lunch, the basic cycle until 16:30 on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday and until 15:30 on Wednesday and Friday, the oriented cycle until 16:00 and 17:30 respectively.
Address Pres. Uriburu 362, Adrogué, partido de Almirante Brown, Provincia de Buenos Aires; Campo de Deportes - Ministro Rivadavia, Longchamps
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · authorised programmeCambridge lists the school as one of its examination centres, while the school itself names only the language examinations from Cambridge on its website: preparation for the international examinations of the University of Cambridge - CAE (Certificate in Advanced English) and CPE (Certificate of Proficiency in English). The Cambridge International stages - Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, AS/A Level - appear on no page of the site, and the school places the French DELF alongside Cambridge as a second international certificate.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓LaboratoriesA chemistry and physics laboratory and a computer room.
✓Theatre or assembly hallA multi-purpose hall and a ceremonial hall.
✓LibraryA library.
✓CateringA canteen.
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus: A site of 5,500 square metres, 3,500 of them under roof, spread over four buildings; the school stands in Adrogué, in the Almirante Brown district, among green gardens and old trees. Music: A music hall.
Clubs and activities: Scottish dance · Drums · English for parents · Chess · Piano · Rhythmic gymnastics · Theatre · Football (boys) · Roller skating · Aerial silks · Ice hockey · Rugby · Athletics · Band workshop · Science fair · History fair · Geography fair
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median72 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country